Dirty South mixes new Strictly Rhythm compilation

DJ Vortex / Info / / 0 Comments / Like this


2XCD featuring Strictly Rhythm classics and Dirty South originals and remixes plus some extra special edits from Dirty South!

Released June 21 2011 on Strictly Rhythm
Strictly Rhythm is pleased to announce that superstar Producer/Remixer/DJ Dirty South has been chosen to compile and mix the latest installment of its acclaimed compilation series. Following efforts by Masters At Work, Todd Terry, Tiefschwarz, Erick Morillo and Bob Sinclar, Strictly Dirty South marries classics from the Strictly Rhythm catalog with the most up front Dirty South favorites currently on the scene.

It’s been an amazing twelve months for Dirty South. While already well established on the global scene Dirty South took it up a notch delivering smash original productions, remixes and toured the world non-stop. In 2010, he delivered the anthemic track “Phazing” and branded his beloved “Star Phazing Nights” club concept; his own Phazing Records released David Tort, Thomas Gold & David Gausa’s hit “Areena;” & the first release from rising star Jeremy Olander “Airsteala”. Dirty South was also nominated for a Grammy for his co-remix (with Axwell) of Temper Trap’s “Sweet Disposition.” Dirty South stormed into 2011 with a fresh rinse of Diddy Dirty Money featuring Skylar Grey’s Billboard smash single “Coming Home,” was featured at Swedish House Mafia’s Masquerade Motel and sold out his “Starphazing” event at Mansion during Miami Music Week. Plus his tri-monthly residency at Las Vegas superclub ‘Marquee’.

CD One is a look back at some of the bigger moments on Strictly Rhythm and in clubland over the years. The mix builds nicely with cuts from Aly-us, KOT, Lil Mo Ying Yang, Shakedown, Bob Sinclar and includes exclusive re-edits of Ultra Nate “Free” fused with Live Element “Be Free” and Falko Richtberg & Sebastian Wojowski’s “Madelaine” is married with Julie McKnight’s “Home.” CD Two is full of current club bangers from the likes of David Tort, D.Ramirez, Thomas Gold, Green Velvet, Danny Freakazoid & Matt Casseli and Tristan Garner as well as plenty of remixes and productions from Dirty South (including his Diddy-Dirty Money “Coming Home” remix.)

Dirty South comments, “Putting together my Strictly Rhythm compilation was fun and a great opportunity to showcase two different sides of my take on house music and the way I DJ at one of my shows. The First Disc is a reflection of my ‘old school’ house music and it features some of the tracks Ii grew up with, while the Second Disc is basically the sound that I currently play at my shows and these are the biggest tracks of today. Both discs were a pleasure to construct and mix and I’m very happy to show people a taste of two different worlds of house music that are separated by 10-15 years. Yes, the sound and the energy has definitely changed, but its all house music at the end of the day!!!”

Strictly Rhythm head of A & R, Seamus Haji adds “Following on from Erick Morillo and Bob Sinclar in the series I wanted Dirty South to mix the comp as I felt he would understand the heritage of Strictly Rhythm which is known for great vocal tracks, club anthems and harder edged tracks. It was this variety that I wanted to be encapsulated in the mix. He produces and plays vocal tracks as well big room stompers so I thought it would be interesting to see how he would marry his style with ours. I think he’s done a fantastic job and you can hear the amount of effort he’s put into the mix in the way that he’s programmed & mixed it and also created lots of exclusive Re-edits for us!”

Strictly Rhythm Records is house music. Since 1989 the legendary New York label not only put out records by almost every name in the game, but it also defined house music throughout the 1990s. In 1994 Strictly notched up its first crossover hit with Real 2 Real’s ‘I Like To Move It’, a feat it was to repeat throughout the rest of the decade with Wink’s ‘Higher State of Consciousness’, Ultra Naté’s ‘Free’ and Wamdue Project’s ‘King of My Castle’. In between the hits the label provided a steady output of club tracks by a huge array of respected artists from Barbara Tucker and Masters At Work to Erick Morillo, Josh Wink, Armand Van Helden, Danny Tenaglia, David Morales and DJ Pierre. Almost every house producer of repute who was active in the 1990s is represented in the catalogue.

Strictly Dirty South is available as a Two-Disc CD, iTunes version and special DJ friendly digital version featuring unmixed WAV files of each individual track and two separate DJ mixes. The DJ friendly version will be available as a bundle only from Beatport and other digital music retailers.


1. Kings Of Tomorrow – Finally (Original Extended Mix)
2. Lil’ Mo’ Yin Yang – Reach (Mark Knight Mix)
3. Kid Crème – Austin’s Groove (Vocal Mix)
4. Bob Sinclar – I Feel For You (Erick Morillo Edit)
5. Steal Vybe – Music 4 The World (Tribing 2 Da Drumz Mix)
6. Âme – Rej (Original Beatless Mix)
7. Michael Moog – That Sound (Full Intention Club)
8. Aly-Us – Follow Me (Vanjee & Alex S Mix)
9. Michel Cleis feat. Totó La Momposina, La Mezcla (Roog Edit)
10. Ultra Nate, Free, Dirty South (No Beats Edit) **
11. Live Element, Be Free (Original Vocal)
12. Shakedown, At Night (Kid Crème Club Mix)
13. Falko Richtberg & Sebastian Wojkowski /Julie McKnight – Madelaine / Home (Dirty South Edit)**


1. Diddy Dirty Money feat. Skylar Grey – Coming Home (Dirty South Vocal Mix)
2. Arno Cost / Ministers De-La-Funk feat. Jocelyn Brown – Lise / Believe (Dirty South Edit) **
3. Green Velvet – Flash (Nicky Romero Mix)
4. David Tort, Thomas Gold & David Gausa / Axwell & Dirty South feat. Rudy – Areena / Open Your Heart (Dirty South Edit) **
5. Tim Mason – The Moment (Steve Angello Edit)
6. D.Ramirez & Dirty South – Shield
7. Jeremy Olander – Airsteala (Dirty South Remix)
8. Alesso – Nillionaire, (Original)
9. Swanky Tunes & Hard Rock Sofa – Smolengrad (Original Mix)
10. DJ Dove – Break It Down (Harry Choo Choo Romero Remix)
11. Matt Caseli & Danny Freakazoid – Raise Your Hands
12. Tristan Garner & Gregori Klosman – Bounce (Original)
13. David Tort feat. Gosha / Dirty South feat. Rudy – One Look (Axwell Vs. Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike Instrumental) / Phazing (Dirty South Edit) **